Let’s get started

Let me introduce myself first:

My name is Miriam, I’m a sixteen year old teenager from Germany. I’m a little mixed, since my father is Spanish and my mother is German. Since English is not my first language I might make a few mistakes, but I try not to.

I guess I’m just a teenager, who plays an instrument, likes to dance, loves to hang out with friends, listens to music all day and goes to school.

I’m a tolerant and caring person, although I can be moody and mean sometimes. I don’t think about nails, fashion and boys all day. So far I sound quite normal, but I don’t want to grow up to be rich or famous, I want to be happy when I grow up and for that other people’s happiness and a fair world is important to me. I know I can’t change the world, but when I die I don’t want to think of all the things I could have done to help and regret living a lazy and selfish life!
While most teenagers think of getting drunk, partying and getting laid, I think about what is wrong with our society, which can be quite depressing. Of course I sometimes go to parties and do normal teenager stuff and I don’t consider myself a great and perfect person. I make mistakes, I can be a selfish bitch sometimes, but I guess that’s puberty and I don’t want my entire life to be like that!

But now back to some other stuff about me…

I’ve got one older brother who I love with all my heart and I really don’t know what I’d do without him. German was my first language and because of my dad and my Spanish family I started to speak Spanish when I was little. I then learned English and French in school and after my father moved to England because of his job about six years ago, my English has improved a massive lot.

My parents divorced when I was 11, but that never damaged me in any kind of way, because they still respect each other, they never fight and they get along perfectly, which I’m very thankful for.

I visit my dad almost every 3-4 months during my school holidays and I’ve also spent some time in a school in England while visiting my dad.

Languages are a very big part of my life, and they’ve always been important to me. My mother is a lecturer for Spanish and French and she used to be a interpreter and translated before she had my brother and me. I can consider myself quite lucky to travel quite a lot, but I mainly spend my holidays in England, France or Spain.

I wanted to share my thoughts and ideas and a blog seemed to be a great place.

By expressing my thoughts and opinions I don’t want to say that these are the only right opinions for me. These are simply my thoughts and opinions and I don’t think that everyone else is wrong. I’m open for new ideas and other’s opinions!

My posts will be in English and German, because I can’t express all of it in English and some things sound better in English or German.

I’ve seen some bad things and some amazing things in my life so far and I know there are many more to come. Compared to what others have seen, those bad things might seem very small or unimportant, but to me it means something and I’m glad that I don’t have to experience some of those really horrible things.

My aim is to help people who can’t help themselves, people who, unlike me, don’t live in freedom and people who don’t have the chance to live a life like mine. I want to travel the world and help people in need as much as I can.

We live in a cruel and selfish society and I don’t want to accept that!

 

Leave a Reply

